Reference > World Factbook, 2003
Flag of French Guiana
Map of French Guiana
French Guiana
Fr. La Guyane française, officially Department of Guiana, French overseas department (1995 est. pop. 145,000), 35,135 sq mi (91,000 sq km), NE South America, on the Atlantic Ocean. Part of the Guiana region, it is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the north, Suriname on the west, and Brazil on the south and east. Cayenne is the capital and largest city. The Oyapock (Oiapoque) River on the east and the Tumuc-Humac Mts. on the south separate it from Brazil. The Maroni River on the west forms the border with Suriname.—continue at Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition. (Copyright © 2003 Columbia University Press.
  1. Background
  2. Geography
  3. People
  4. Government
  5. Economy
  6. Communications
  7. Transportation
  8. Military
  9. Transnational Issues

Shakespeare · Bible · Strunk · Anatomy · Nonfiction · Quotations · Reference · Fiction · Poetry
© 1993–2015 · [Top 150] · Subjects · Titles · Authors · World Lit.