Verse > John Greenleaf Whittier > The Poetical Works in Four Volumes
John Greenleaf Whittier (1807–1892).  The Poetical Works in Four Volumes.  1892.
Poems of Nature
A Dream of Summer
BLAND as the morning breath of June
  The southwest breezes play;
And, through its haze, the winter noon
  Seems warm as summer’s day.
The snow-plumed Angel of the North        5
  Has dropped his icy spear;
Again the mossy earth looks forth,
  Again the streams gush clear.
The fox his hillside cell forsakes,
  The muskrat leaves his nook,        10
The bluebird in the meadow brakes
  Is singing with the brook.
“Bear up, O Mother Nature!” cry
  Bird, breeze, and streamlet free;
“Our winter voices prophesy        15
  Of summer days to thee!”
So, in those winters of the soul,
  By bitter blasts and drear
O’erswept from Memory’s frozen pole,
  Will sunny days appear.        20
Reviving Hope and Faith, they show
  The soul its living powers,
And how beneath the winter’s snow
  Lie germs of summer flowers!
The Night is mother of the Day,        25
  The Winter of the Spring,
And ever upon old Decay
  The greenest mosses cling.
Behind the cloud the starlight lurks,
  Through showers the sunbeams fall;        30
For God, who loveth all His works,
  Has left His hope with all!

  4th 1st month, 1847.

Shakespeare · Bible · Strunk · Anatomy · Nonfiction · Quotations · Reference · Fiction · Poetry
© 1993–2015 · [Top 150] · Subjects · Titles · Authors · World Lit.