Verse > John Greenleaf Whittier > The Poetical Works in Four Volumes
John Greenleaf Whittier (1807–1892).  The Poetical Works in Four Volumes.  1892.
Religious Poems
The Reward
WHO, looking backward from his manhood’s prime,
Sees not the spectre of his misspent time?
      And, through the shade
Of funeral cypress planted thick behind,
Hears no reproachful whisper on the wind        5
      From his loved dead?
Who bears no trace of passion’s evil force?
Who shuns thy sting, O terrible Remorse?
      Who does not cast
On the thronged pages of his memory’s book,        10
At times, a sad and half-reluctant look,
      Regretful of the past?
Alas! the evil which we fain would shun
We do, and leave the wished-for good undone:
      Our strength to-day        15
Is but to-morrow’s weakness, prone to fall;
Poor, blind, unprofitable servants all
      Are we alway.
Yet who, thus looking backward o’er his years,
Feels not his eyelids wet with grateful tears,        20
      If he hath been
Permitted, weak and sinful as he was,
To cheer and aid, in some ennobling cause,
      His fellow-men?
If he hath hidden the outcast, or let in        25
A ray of sunshine to the cell of sin;
      If he hath lent
Strength to the weak, and, in an hour of need,
Over the suffering, mindless of his creed
      Or home, hath bent;        30
He has not lived in vain, and while he gives
The praise to Him, in whom he moves and lives,
      With thankful heart;
He gazes backward, and with hope before,
Knowing that from his works he nevermore        35
      Can henceforth part.


Shakespeare · Bible · Strunk · Anatomy · Nonfiction · Quotations · Reference · Fiction · Poetry
© 1993–2015 · [Top 150] · Subjects · Titles · Authors · World Lit.