Reference > Brewer’s Dictionary > Three Bishoprics (The).

 Three.Three-Decker (A). 
E. Cobham Brewer 1810–1897. Dictionary of Phrase and Fable. 1898.
Three Bishoprics (The).
So the French call the three cities of Lorraine, Metz, and Verdun, each of which was at one time under the lordship of a bishop. They were united to the kingdom of France by Henri II. in 1552. Since the Franco-German war they have been attached to Germany.   1

 Three.Three-Decker (A). 

Click here to shop the Bartleby Bookstore.

Shakespeare · Bible · Strunk · Anatomy · Nonfiction · Quotations · Reference · Fiction · Poetry
© 1993–2015 · [Top 150] · Subjects · Titles · Authors