Verse > John Keats > Poetical Works
John Keats (1795–1821).  The Poetical Works of John Keats.  1884.
27. Addressed to the Same
GREAT spirits now on earth are sojourning;
  He of the cloud, the cataract, the lake,
  Who on Helvellyn’s summit, wide awake,
Catches his freshness from Archangel’s wing:
He of the rose, the violet, the spring,        5
  The social smile, the chain for Freedom’s sake:
  And lo!—whose stedfastness would never take
A meaner sound than Raphael’s whispering.
And other spirits there are standing apart
  Upon the forehead of the age to come;        10
These, these will give the world another heart,
  And other pulses. Hear ye not the hum
Of mighty workings?—————
  Listen awhile ye nations, and be dumb.
See Notes.


Shakespeare · Bible · Strunk · Anatomy · Nonfiction · Quotations · Reference · Fiction · Poetry
© 1993–2015 · [Top 150] · Subjects · Titles · Authors · World Lit.