Verse > Anthologies > Robert Bridges, ed. > The Spirit of Man: An Anthology

Robert Bridges, ed. (1844–1930).  The Spirit of Man: An Anthology.  1916.
The Ragged Wood

William Butler Yeats (1865–1939)
O HURRY 1 where by water among trees
The delicate-stepping stag and his lady sigh,
When they have but looked upon their images,—
O that none ever loved but you and I!
Or have you heard that sliding silver-shoed        5
Pale silver-proud queen-woman of the sky,
When the sun looked out of his golden hood,—
O that none ever loved but you and I!
O hurry to the ragged wood, for there
I’ll hollo all those lovers out and cry—        10
O my share of the world, O yellow hair!
No one has ever loved but you and I.
Note 1. Yeats. The ragged Wood. From the ‘Tauchnitz coll. of British Authors’, p. 150: with my punctuation substituted for printer’s. [back]

Shakespeare · Bible · Strunk · Anatomy · Nonfiction · Quotations · Reference · Fiction · Poetry
© 1993–2015 · [Top 150] · Subjects · Titles · Authors · World Lit.