5 stages of grief

886 Words4 Pages
The 5 Stages Of Grief
Source: http://grief.com/the-five-stages-of-grief/, The Kübler-Ross Model, By Elizabeth Kübler-Ross, On Death and Dying, 1969. The thesis of her article was that there are 5 stages a person goes through when dealing with some kind of loss or bereavement. Not everyone goes through each and every stage and neither does everyone go through a precise order . The five stages, denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance were never meant to help secrete messy emotions into neat packages.
Her article was based on her work with her terminally ill patients, seminars, interviews and also a lot of research. The overall pattern she took was from emotion to emotion. Referring to these emotions as stages. She explained
…show more content…
This is where people kind of disconnect themselves from everything else; a person draws back from every normal thing and prefers to be alone. When a person doesn’t experience depression after loss, it is unusual.
Acceptance: “It’s going to be okay”, Moving on and trying to live with it. According to Elisabeth Kübler-Ross this is the final grieving process. Accepting the loss doesn’t necessarily mean everything alright, it just means that a person is ready to live with the loss and learn how to live without what they have lost. Usually people want to keep on going with their lives as though they haven’t lost anything, but as time goes on they learn that, that is not completely possible and they learn to adjust. The author says we can never replace what has been lost, we just have to make new connections. OR

Revenge: “Someone has to pay!”. Anger and resentment. The action of inflicting hurt or harm on someone for a wrong suffered at their hands. For most the final stage of grief is acceptance, for others it is a life sentence without indulgence. Grief is a merciless master; people realize that they never stood a chance, just when they start believing they’re free. It is said that nothing inspires forgiveness quite like revenge. At times, people in grief will often report more stages. Basically one’s grief is as unique as they
Get Access