Beethoven Concert Symphony No 6

1128 Words5 Pages

The “Pastorale” Symphony and the “Emperor” Piano Concerto, one named by Ludwig van Beethoven and the other by a friend, are splendid examples of Beethoven’s musical acumen. These pieces are more formally known as Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6 and Piano Concerto No. 5. This concert report will cover both pieces and will contain my impressions of each piece. Symphony No. 6 “Pastorale” was performed by the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, and was conducted by Paavo Jarvi during their Beethoven series. Piano Concerto No. 5 “Emperor” was performed by Murray Perahia (Piano) accompanied by the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, conducted by Neville Marriner. The dates of the performances are not known because this
…show more content…
The five movements of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6 “Pastorale” draw listeners in with a quick, but leisurely tempo and rich developed movements. The symphony seemingly flows and fits the titles beautifully. It is easy to paint a picture of a noble countryside, nature, and all the activities it entails.

Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.5 “Emperor” is a three part traditional concerto, an Allegro, Adagio, and the Rondo. This concerto was named Emperor because of the powerful themes and heroic note of the composition (

The opening of the concerto brings a main theme introduced by a solo piano with the full orchestra providing a dramatic presence of several chords. The piano flourishes grow in length until reaching a cadenza after the third time. The full orchestra joins in and carries the theme into the full exposition. The theme is bold with a pleasant interjection of a second subject that seems to tiptoe through the movement. The orchestra stays in the tonic key as the piano modulates and reaches a wide variety of tones as the scales are worked. The development of the movement effectively flips the lead. The orchestra now leads and the piano accompanies. The main theme rhythm is reinforced by a powerful bassoon. The coda is lead by horns and joined by the rest of the orchestra to a thrilling close.

The second movement is a slow movement and begins quietly

More about Beethoven Concert Symphony No 6

Get Access