Burm A Military Dictatorship Country For Many Years

2214 Words9 Pages
Burma used to be a military dictatorship country for several years. The military dictatorship system was initially led by General Ne Win, who ruled the country with brutality since 1962. In 1974, the government forced people to approve a new constitution for establishing a one-party (Burma Socialist Program Party or BSPP) government with 415 members. General Ne Win changed the name of the country to the Socialist Republic of the Union of Burma. They held a one-party election and General Ne Win turned into Chairman of the State Council and President of Burma U Ne Win. However, the military junta was still controlling. Burma’s economy were facing bankruptcy by 1987 (Background Information). As people suffered from the extreme political…show more content…
She gave a speech to the masses of people who were gathering at Shwedagon Pagoda in Rangoon. In September, during the congress meeting, a multi-party system was voted by 75% of the representatives. However, the BSPP turned down the changes. The protests kept going and the army and police forces also began to support the protestors (The protests of “8888”). Using excessive brutal measures, the Burmese military made the protests stop and took the power again on September 18, 1988. General Saw Maung abolished the 1974 constitution and established the “State Law and Order Restoration Council(SLORC)”. However, in 1997, the SLORC was broken down and changed to the State Peace and Development Council (SPDC) which continued to rule until 2010 by General Than Shwe. National League for Democracy (NLD) party was one of the notable political parties in 1988 and 1989. It was led by Aung San Suu Kyi. Since she was very popular like today, the SLORC put her under house arrest in July 1989 (Background Information). The government made her remain under house arrest in Rangoon for six years. In May 1990, the free and fair multi-party election was held. Although NLD leader was under house arrest, they won “392 of 485 parliamentary seats (or 80% of the seats)”. Nevertheless, “The SLORC refused to transfer power to the NLD claiming that transfer of power to a civilian government could not happen
    Open Document