Checks and Balances of the Three Branches of Federal Government

516 Words2 Pages
Checks and Balances of the Three Branches of Federal Government Our government is divided into three branches. The Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches of the United States government are all connected to each other yet each has its own duty and function to adhere to the Constitution. This structure of checks and balances restricts any one branch from acquiring too much power. Following is a review of the specific checks of which each branch is responsible. The Executive Branch, headed by the president, proposes the induction of new federal laws. This branch is responsible for the nation’s security and foreign policy. Other examples of the executive branch’s powers include supervising government, commanding the Armed Forces, and the authority to veto bills. However, a presidential veto may be overridden with a two-thirds majority vote from both the Senate and The House of Representatives. Headed by Congress, the Legislative Branch, is responsible for formulating and initiating new laws. Made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives, the main obligations of this branch of government are passing laws, originating spending bills, and waging war against proposed enemies. The most inherent power of Congress over the President is that of impeachment. The House of Representatives, composed of four hundred thirty- five elected representatives based on the population of each state, typically votes in favor of their state’s best interests. The Senate, on the
Open Document