Defense of Marriage Act Essay example

1954 Words 8 Pages
Defense of Marriage Act


Within our society and the western hemisphere, it is believed that only a man and a woman should be allowed to participate in the sacred ritual of marriage. These beliefs are instilled through the socialization of society and family. Our society illustrates marriage through the media. Our family illustrates marriage by first hand experience. In a traditional family, we perceive a man and a woman as our parents. Traditionally, people marry with the expectation that reproduction will occur, and one will grow old along side of children, and grandchildren. There is an image to marriage, and the thought of altering that to include same sex unions is disturbing to many.

Gay or same sex marriages
…show more content…
The state of Vermont accepted and promoted same sex marriages by classifying them as “civil unions” in order to maneuver around DOMA. Vermont believed that “civil unions” would provide lesbian and gay individuals with financial and emotional benefits that are accessible to heterosexual individuals who are married (Kranz & Cusick, 2000). Vermont’s objectives were to provide an inclusive versus separation and discrimination reality for fellow Vermonters (Kranz & Cusick, 2000). In 1998, Hawaii’s state legislation implemented the DOMA amendment that altered the state’s constitution and rejected same sex marriages. “28 states passed laws preventing the recognition of same sex marriages” (Kranz & Cusick, 2000).

Between 1995 and 2000, the 28 states that prevented same sex marriages from being legal were Utah, Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Arkansas, Florida, Indiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, North Dakota, Virginia, Alabama, Alaska, Iowa, Kentucky, Washington, and Hawaii. In 2000, the remaining 19 states didn’t have an “explicit ban on same sex marriages” which included Colorado, Connecticut, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming (Kranz & Cusick,
Open Document