Developmental Psychology : The Stages Of Development

1191 Words May 17th, 2015 5 Pages
Julissa Valtierra
Mrs. Yolanda
Developmental Psychology
May 18, 2015
Erickson Essay Erick Erickson, a German psychoanalyst created a theory called the Stages of Development, which consist of eight phases. As a person passes though each stage they will attempt to resolve crises that are important to the process of life. These eight stages include building a sense of trust in others, discovering a sense of self, as well as preparing the forthcoming generation for the future. Since everyone is unique in their own way, we will all experience Erickson’s 8-Stage Life Span Theory slightly different from each other. Erickson’s first stage begins at birth and last about 12 months. It’s called Basic Trust vs. Mistrust. This phase relies wholly on the mother and father’s parenting skills. Since this is an unfamiliar world to the infant, it’s part of the parent’s job to provide stability and constant care to build a sense of trust with the child. Like most of us, I cannot remember my early childhood years, but I know my mother and father were very attentive to me as an infant. Since I am the first-born, I was something new and special to my parents. During this stage we will develop trust, confidence, and security from our parents. If I or any child does not receive this, than they could grow up to feel insecure and insignificant. Next is the Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt, which occurs between 12 months to 3 years old. This chapter is when the child is exploring what skills and…
Open Document