Forms Of Democracy

1269 Words6 Pages
What is Democracy?
A democracy is a system of government where the citizens have the right to elect government representatives who jointly create a government body for the entire nation. In a democratic government, people have certain rights that the government can’t take away from them; these rights are guaranteed. The eight main forms of democracy are:
1. Direct democracy 2. Representative democracy 3. Presidential democracy
4. Parliamentary democracy 5. Authoritarian democracy 6. Participatory democracy 7. Islamic democracy
8. Social democracy
Direct Democracy – Direct democracy is when citizens vote for a policy directly. If the government needs to pass a law or policy, then it goes to the people. The people place a vote on the issue and through their vote, they decide the fate of their country. When the country’s population is small and educated a direct democracy is a good idea. Switzerland has had an extensive history of very successful direct democracy. However, most countries are too big so it makes it too complicated for a direct democracy to work. In these cases, people choose to elect representatives from their country on their behalf, instead of voting on every issue.
Representative Democracy- Representative democracy is when the citizens choose to vote for who will represent them in a parliament. Its reputation relies on defending the rights of most of the people in the state and also the minorities. Australia and New Zealand are examples of countries
Get Access