History of the Three Kingdoms Period of Korean History

1329 Words5 Pages
Three Kingdoms Period of Korean History
Korea has a vast and rich heritage but also one based upon civil war and the attempt to create a single unified country through force if necessary. Between 57 AD and 668 AD, the land that is now known as North and South Korea was called the Three Kingdoms because of its division into three kingdoms, Goguryeo, Baekje, and Silla. Following this period, between 698 and 926 AD, Korean history was in the midst of the North South States Period wherein Silla became united and coexisted alongside Balhae at point both above and below the peninsula. After this came the Koryo or Goryeo era (918-1392 AD) and then the Choson or Joseon period (1392-1897 AD). Despite being separate, kingdoms, the three had much in common including a shared culture and language, as well as religious and philosophical beliefs which were increasingly influenced by their larger Chinese neighbor. Governmental changes were the primary difference in the divided Korea and each of the three kingdoms had a system in place that was instrumental in the way the people as well as those in positions of leadership functioned in the society.
The Three Kingdoms period was dominated by the Goguryeo kingdom (Eckert 30). Logically, as the largest in land area, Goguryeo had a larger population and were thus able to exert influence on the other two kingdoms. Unlike the other two kingdoms, Goguryeo also fought valiantly against the Chinese in Manchuria to prevent the Chinese militia from
Get Access