I Am A Traditional Law School Applicant

1423 WordsFeb 20, 20166 Pages
I am not a traditional law school applicant. I am a 33 year-old Hispanic mother of three boys, aged fourteen, eleven, and ten. I am a first generation born U.S. citizen as my mother immigrated to the United States from a war-torn El Salvador in 1979 when a family friend smuggled her out of the country. They fled from atrocities committed by the Salvadorian military-led government. My father emigrated from Argentina in the 1960’s evading social and political unrest and in search of a better economic future. My parents divorced in 1984, leaving my then four-year old brother and my two-year old self to be raised in a single parent-home spearheaded by my mother. I have never met a stronger or more hardworking woman. Having only completed the eight-grade and not speaking any English my mother cleaned houses and would babysit for a living. Work was a part of our lives. Most of my childhood memories are centered on accompanying my mother to work. By the age of nine, I could comfortably translate for my mother as I could clean a house and help care for a child. At the age of fourteen I as working as a weekend babysitter myself. As a child witnessing my mother’s struggle, it engrained within me a deep sense of responsibility and a yearning to help. When young, the best way I could help was by means of my brother. He was not properly diagnosed or treated due to limited resources at the time. Yet, I took it upon myself to look after him. I would ensure my brother ate, would be ready
Open Document