Ict Developments in Supply Chain Management Within the Fashion Industry

4127 Words17 Pages
B.I.S. MIS40760 Information and Communication Technologies Project ICT developments in Supply Chain Management within the Fashion Industry Group C7 Laurence Dumenil 10263080 Laurence.dumenil@ucd.ie Ian Foley 10287825 Ian.Foley@ucdconnect.ie Noirin Kirwan 10272127 noirin.kirwan@ucdconnect.ie Paul Murray 03528731 paul.murray1@ucdconnect.ie Cathy Smith 10269886 Cathy.Smith.1@ucdconnect.ie Andres Villar 10279253 Andres.Villar@ucdconnect.ie Table of Contents: 3 Introduction 3 History of the Industry 4 Outline of Supply Chain Management 6 Supply chain management and Zara 6 Introduction 7 Product Development and Marketing 8 Manufacturing and Purchasing 9 Logistics and Distribution 12 Store Operations…show more content…
(See fig. 1) Since the 1960’s and the information revolution, man’s ability to transfer information has continued to grow not only more efficient but also more important. With the growth of e-commerce and electronic data interchange supplying a constantly updated information supply, being able to profit from information has been key to successful business practice. Originally exemplified by Wal-Mart’s ability to send and receive sales and supply information automatically, communication development, facilitated by services like the internet, has gone on to open up a worldwide market for many industries. This ability to transfer information instantaneously has given birth to a new generation of supply chain management systems where producers, suppliers, distributors, and increasingly even customers are all connected. In the high-street retail market, fast fashion is the current key to success where the speed of fashion trends means a more disposable clothing culture is emerging where low cost and a quick product lifecycle are vital to successful sales. With such demands from the end use consumer and with instantaneous information at hand, an increasingly important emphasis is being placed on supply chain management efficiencies. Fig: 1 Supply Chain Management and Zara Introduction undergone one of the most rapid

More about Ict Developments in Supply Chain Management Within the Fashion Industry

Open Document