Infancy, School Age, early Adulthood

1137 Words Jan 28th, 2018 5 Pages
As a student of Anna Freud,

daughter of Sigmund Freud, Erikson based his model on Freud’s psychosexual stages and

psychoanalytic theory. According to Freud’s theory, psychosexual development is broken down

into five stages: oral, anal, phallic, latency, and genital. Freud’s psychoanalytic theory proposes

that personality consists of three interworking parts - the id, the ego and the superego, and that

these parts become unified as a child works through the five stages of psychosexual

development. However, Erikson believed that development continued throughout life,

a viewpoint supported by Professor James E. Marcia. Erikson's psychosocial stages of

development focus on the resolution of crises to meet needs and become a successful, complete

person. Critics debate the sequential aspect of Erikson’s model, however, Erikson stated that the

phases are listed in a manner in which the predominant aspects are most evident. Erikson’s

statement held true after interviewing the a young adult, a mother of an infant, and a school age

child covering three stages of development.

Infancy – Clarissa

The first stage of development reflects a period of total dependency by the…
Open Document