Jones∙Blair Case #1 Introduction In 1999 the U.S. paint industry sales were projected to be more than $13 billion. The industry has slow sales growth and is constantly changing due to government regulations. In 1999, Jones∙Blair had sales volume of $12 million with an annual growth rate of 4%. Jones∙Blair
Although the company did show an increased gross profit of $8,255,000 with $6,358,000 less Net Sales in 2013 versus 2012, that increase is due to the reduction in product Cost of Goods Sold by $14,613,000. Since increases in product price will negatively affect sales, one of management’s primary goals is to keep prices stable. This objective is achieved through implementation of cost cutting programs, investing in more efficient equipment, and automation of more steps in the production process.
New Sales unit @40% additional sales= 5000*40%= 2000 Additional profit @40% additional Sales = Additional Sales* New Contribution Margin =2000*6 =$12000 New Sales unit @20% additional sales= 5000*20%= 1000 Additional profit @20% additional Sales = Additional Sales* New Contribution Margin =1000*6 =$6000 Steady: Sales: 5000 Price per unit: $10 Variable Cost per unit: $5.5 Fixed Cost: $35000 Current Profit: $ 2500 New Price per additional unit: $8.5 New The change in the contribution margin for all the products is responsible for the change in profitability.
We chose Broad Differentiator as the basic strategy for our company. Through this strategy, our company will attempt to differentiate our product line in several distinct dimensions. By providing products that are vastly superior and unique from our competitors and pricing the products affordably, we can gain customers’ loyalty and
The company is looking to increase profitability and find a long-term solution to the inventory problem.
Hima Patel Instructor Alison Syring Rhetoric 105, Section F1 September 9, 2015 Rhetorical Analysis: Dove Commercial All around the world in one way or the other, everyone tries to sell an idea or an actual thing. Everyone is always trying to convince each other by using different techniques to sell an idea or a thing. In order to sell and persuade an idea or thing, people have to tell it to an audience by using advertising and rhetorical strategies. Rhetoric is to transform and change a person’s perspective and truly convince them of something. An efficient way that marketers convince through rhetorical strategies is through advertising. A market that uses advertising a lot are beauty commercials like the Dove’s Real Beauty “film” commercial.
Final Draft: Volkswagen vs. Lexus Over the last few decades, American culture has been forever changed by the huge amount of advertisement the people are subjected to. Advertising has become such an integral part of society, many people will choose whether or not they want to buy a product based only on their familiarity with it rather than the product’s price or effectiveness. Do to that fact, companies must provide the very best and most convincing advertisements as possible. Those companies have, in fact, done
Total initial estimated investment: $ 3,795,000. According to the income statement of Harrison, the average administration cost for a year is amounted to $ 2,425,000. The new company will handle NCB’s products only therefore administration costs will be lower (around $1,500,000).
First, the subject of the commercial deduced after watching it is one, which cannot be ignored. Almost everyone was affected by the September 11 attack and paid attention to any opportunity that shows respect for the victims. Secondly, the audience only realized that it was an advertisement at the end of the commercial when the company logo is shown. But more influential is the use of rhetorical appeals.
Thomas Edison State College Principles of Managerial Accounting (ACC-102) Final Project 1. Cost-volume-profit relationships (15 points) The following data are available for a product manufactured and sold by Logan Company: Compute the following: (a) Contribution margin per unit: $_______________ Solution: Computation of the Contribution margin per unit Contribution margin per unit = Selling price per unit – Variable Cost per unit Where as Selling price per unit = 212 Variable Cost per unit =128 Contribution margin per unit = 212 – 128 Contribution margin per unit = $84 (b) Number of units that must be sold to break-even: _______________ units Solution: Computation of the Number of units that must be sold to break-even It is therefore a sunk cost. The $320,000, on the other hand, is a fixed cost associated with the proposed addition.
Jones Blair Case SWOT Analysis: Strengths High quality products High quality service with Knowledgeable sales representatives that know customers personally Mature market 1-2% sales growth long-term Shelf goods 43% of total industry dollar sales Specialty paint stores & lumberyards most frequently patronized Distributes through 200 independent paint stores Maintaining margins while increasing R&D, material, & labor costs Market to major
Problem Statement: Where and how should Jones Blair Company engages its corporate marketing efforts among the various architectural paint coatings market?
When it comes to the topic of commercials, most of us readily agree that commercials are irritating. Where this agreement usually ends, however, is on the purpose of the commercial. Whereas some are convinced that commercials are meaningless, others maintain that commercials tell a story. Effective commercials are repetitive and illustrate a story. Marketers use rhetoric marketing, the art of persuasive speaking and writing, when persuading an audience to buy a product. Rhetoric marketing is especially effective through the illustration of a story. It is effective because the marketer is able to relate to the consumer with a story or message. Advertisers also use the appeals of logic, credibility, and emotions to intrigue interest in a company. Coca-Cola’s advertisement, “Falling,” depicts the product as a confidence building companion suitable for young love through a series of logical and emotional appeals that visibly promotes the brand’s credibility.
3. THE CURRENT RESTRUCTURE OF DAVID JONES 3.1 Current business restructure analysis Even though this report agrees with the current restructure and rescue plan of David Jones, which were divided main three parts including eleven subparts that are renovating store policies, focusing its core strengths, and transferring from traditional business to technologically oriented business, I want to add two main parts that are sustainable training and focused marketing strategy.
Question 3: What specific market initiatives would you recommend over the next five years? Just like it is told in the case, word of mouth is the most classical marketing tool for direct selling. But the company took a risk and get in the TV advertising business, which had great conclusions for them. So I believe that they should definitely keep going with TV ads since the