My Father Worked For The Cotton Belt Railroad

807 WordsJan 24, 20164 Pages
I was born in Tyler, TX. My family and I lived in several towns throughout East Texas as I was growing up. My father worked for the Cotton Belt Railroad employed as a welder. My mother held several types of jobs. She worked as a cook, nursery worker and several other occupations. The first place I remember living was in Greenville. Greenville was followed quickly by Lindale, Chapel Hill, Mt. Vernon, Commerce, Mesquite, Marshall and finally back to Lindale. Lindale was my favorite place and the place we settled for my high school years. I thought being there for 5 consecutive years was the best thing that had ever happened to me. Most kids couldn’t wait to graduate and get out of the small town of Lindale, but I was having the time of my life. I was soon to learn that living in Lindale was not the best thing that would ever happen to me. In 1986 my wife, Julie, moved to Lindale. I remember the first time I saw her. I thought, there is the girl I am going to marry. I graduated from Lindale High School in 1989. Following high school, Julie and got married and started our family. Our first child was born soon after. I attended Tyler Junior College and worked at Brookshires warehouse. When I began college I intended to pursue a degree in computer science. I later changed my degree plan to focus on a criminal justice degree. Working full time and attending college, along with a degree change, extended my time in junior college. I graduated from Tyler Junior

More about My Father Worked For The Cotton Belt Railroad

Open Document