New England Middle And Southern Colonies

Decent Essays
After Jamestown, the first colony, thousands of people migrated to the New World to find religious and political freedom. The New World was a huge mystery; people were hungry for adventure. Slowly the New World turned into its own mini-country created by a collection of 13 colonies; although, they were still be governed by the British. These 13 colonies can be categorized into three: Northeast (New England), Middle and Southern colonies. The New England Colonies consisted of Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire. The Middle Colonies were New York, Delaware, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. The Southern Colonies were known as Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. Although many of the immigrants in those colonies came for similar reasons, they were vastly different from each other.

Religion was one main basis for immigrating into the New World and for the Middle Colonies, their religious beliefs were what made them stand out. The majority of the New England Colonies were Puritans. The Puritans were very religiously strict and had no tolerance for any other religion. They immigrated to the New World in hope for religious tolerance then implemented a “no tolerance” rule for any religion other than Puritanism. The Southern Colonies were religiously diverse and were very tolerant of different denominations of Christianity. The Middle Colonies consisted of several affiliations and were very tolerant of other beliefs. One major denomination
Get Access