Piaget 's Theory On Stages Of Developmental Psychology

1039 Words5 Pages
Rebecca Biddle
Mrs. Rufino
English 101
9 December, 2015

Piaget Today
“Child development does not mean developing your child into the person you think they should be, but helping them develop into the best person they are meant to be.”
― Toni Sorenson

Jean Piaget was a leader in the field of developmental psychology, the study of how people grow. Instead of continuing the Freud 's work with psychoanalysis, as many psychologists and philosophers did at the time, Piaget stayed “closer to his teacher Pierre Janet 's psychology” (Vidal) Best known for his theory on stages of cognitive development, Piaget was a great innovator and set up the foundation for today’s psychology and education.
Working with children from the early 1920s to the late 1970s, Piaget discovered that there are four stages of mental development: sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete operations, and formal operations (“Jean Piaget”). Each stage is defined by what a child is or is not able to do, as well as specific milestone accomplishments. Beginning at the sensorimotor stage, the focus of cognitive development for children from birth to age 2 is to “distinguish themselves from the objects around them.” The main accomplishment of this stage is for the child to develop object constancy. When first born, children are unable to recognize or understand that when an object is not in sight, it still exists (TB.) This is what makes playing peek-a-boo with very young children so effective; once the person’s face
Get Access