Procedure Of Sheriff Courts

Decent Essays
Sheriff court is a local civil courts which is available in every city in Scotland. There are in total of 6 Sheriffdoms in Scotland; Glasgow and Strathkelvin, Grampian, Highland and Islands, Lothian and Borders, North Strathclyde, South Strathclyde, Dumfries and Galloway, Tayside, Central and Fife where each of these are then divided into a total of 49 sheriff districts except for Glasgow & Strathkelvin, all with their own sheriff court (, 2013). In 2011-2012, sheriff courts had heard about 80,502 civil cases. There are 3 types of procedure on sheriff court. 1) Ordinary cause – A procedure of which if the claims of money is exceeding £5,000. This is a standard process of procedure carried out in any civil cases that is brought
Get Access