Suddhartha Gautama Religion

Decent Essays
Suddhartha Gautama was the name of the man who later became Buddha and founded the religion of Buddhism.
An old man, a diseased man, a corpse, and a religious monk. These were lessons about the reality of suffering and impermanent nature of life's pleasures.
The doctrines of the Middle Way holds that just as a life of sensual indulgence will not lead to salvation, but neither will extreme asceticism.
Suddhartha's attainment of enlightenment happened when he was sitting in the lotus position beneath a fig tree, he resolved not to leacve the spot until he had found complete and full fulfillment. The god of death, Mara, tried to frighten Suddhartha from his spot but did not succseed. Mara sent forth Discontent, Delight, and Desire hoping to
…show more content…
The features of Buddhist cosmology that are shared with Hinduism are: they both believe that the universe is external, that many worlds exist, and that the ongoing cycle of rebirth can be escaped only through liberation.
Buddha reacted against institutional Hinduism and the caste system and he made Buddhist teachings available to everyone.
The Three Marks of Existence are Anatta (no permanent self), Anicca (things are always changing), and Dukkha (suffering). They are all related in that they are based in the changing nature of reality and that Dukkha is the natural result of Anatta and Anicca.
Anatta means "no self" and that there is no ultimate reality or permanent self. It contradicts the Hindu concept of Atman, which says that an essence underlies existence.
According to the Buddhist doctrine of Samsara, a bundle of energy patterned after one's karma is reborn. The nature of one's rebirth depends on the status of one's karma.
The Five Precepts that apply to all Buddhists are: do not take life, do not take what is not given, do not engage in sensuous misconduct, and do not drink intoxicants. The additional precepts are: do not eat after noon, do not watch dancing or shows, do not use garlands/perfumes/ornaments, do not use a high or soft bed, and do not accept silver or
…show more content…
An arhat is enlightened and free from dukkha; they are especially characterized by compassion.
The literal meaning of "nirvana" is "blowing out"; it implies that all selfish desire has been extinguished leading to freedom from samsara.
The three divisions of Buddhism are Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana.
The main focus of Theravada Buddhism is the teachings.
The literal meaning of the name "Mahayana" is "great vehicle"; the name implicates that Mahayan is Buddhism for the masses.
Vajrayana Buddhism "fights fire with fire" by harnessing the energy of desire and turning it against itself.
The Dalai Lama is the spiritual leader of Vajrayana Buddhism; each Dalai Lama is chosen by being sought out as the successor as the previous Dalai Lama through various means, some supernatural and other more mundane.
The primary geographical regions of the three divisions of Buddhism are as follows. Theravada is prevalent in the countries of Cambodia, Burma, Sri Lanka, and Thailand; Mahayana is dominant in China, Japan, and Korea; Vajrayana's homeland is in
    Get Access