The British Empire And The Colonial Crisis

854 Words Jul 10th, 2016 4 Pages
The British Empire and the Colonial Crisis

Starting in 1754, the Seven Years’ war began and led up to a sequence of events involving the Parliament. The Parliament is the highest legislature in Great Britain and consisted of the House of Lords and House of Commons. The Parliament made three acts because of the Seven Years’ war, which affected the colonist greatly. The three acts made by the Parliament included the Sugar Act, Stamp Act, and the Tea Act. The Parliament made the acts to resolve issues and to enforce more laws, however, some acts made the colonist very upset and led up to events of commotion. The colonist had mixed emotions towards the act because some were liked and others were not. The first act to be issued was the Sugar Act in 1764. The Sugar Act, also known as the American Revenue Act or the American Duties Act, was a modification of the already existing Molasses Act. Colonists hated the Molasses Act because it placed a tax of sixpence per gallon on molasses imported from any country outside the British Empire. The molasses tax was never fully enforced and the colonists smuggled in foreign molasses, but the Sugar Act changed this. The immediate cause for the change was the French and Indian War. The Sugar Act is a British law that “decreased the duty on French molasses” ( The American Promise, 141 ). The Sugar Act regulated shipping trade and enforced more to obey the law. The Stamp Act also “raised penalties for smuggling” ( The…
Open Document