The Critique Of Judgement : Immanuel Kant

1841 Words8 Pages
Derek Marth
Meaning of the Arts
M. Jared Martin
Final Essay In 1790, Immanuel Kant created a piece of work known as the Critique of Judgement. In his work, the Critique of Judgement, Immanuel Kant moves his attention to focusing on aesthetics and what truly makes a piece of art beautiful and pleasing to the eye. Up until around the 1780s Immanuel Kant did not particularly worry or concern himself with aesthetics and how that judges an object or piece of art. It was only in the 1780s that Kant started to take an interest in the aesthetic value of objects and pieces of art. According to Kant, for an object to truly be called beautiful there are four “Moments” in which that particular object must go through. In the book, The Routledge Companion to Aesthetics, Crawford tells us, “It is divided into four “Moments,” corresponding to the headings of the table of judgements in the Critique of Pure Reason: quantity, quality, relation and modality” (Crawford 52). Kant’s theory of these four moments that an object must go through in order for it to be called beautiful are a very elaborate but quite easy concept to understand. Crawford does his very best throughout this particular reading to try and make the theory as easily understandable as possible due to the somewhat hard to read language Kant uses in his original work. Immanuel Kant’s four “Moments” of quantity, quality, relation and modality, do an exceptional job of explaining what makes an object beautiful. The First
Get Access