The Cultural Areas Of The Pacific Ocean

2141 Words9 Pages
Although many people have no idea that Polynesia really means “region of many islands”, I happen to know that this region is made up of three major cultural areas in the southwest Pacific Ocean. These include Polynesia, and Polynesia’s neighboring cultures, Melanesia and Micronesia. The Polynesian culture is so wide spread, so practices, customs, norms, etc. all fluctuate by island. The entire culture can be examined through the seven elements of culture. To begin, these three cultures are extremely diverse, but very similar. I decided to examine the Polynesian Culture in particular because it has the highest popularity within the Pacific Islands. The Polynesian culture is spread across 15 main locations, with thousands of islands and several countries in between. Each island included in the Polynesian culture is located within the “Polynesian Triangle”. The Polynesian Triangle is made up of three main island groups: Easter Island or “Rapa Nui”, the Hawaiian Islands, and New Zealand or “Aotearoa” islands. Other notable islands within the triangle include the Tokelau Islands, the Marquesas Islands, the Tuvalu Islands, the Samoan Islands, the Cook Islands, the Fiji Islands, the Niue Islands, the Tuamotu Islands, the Tahiti Islands, and the Pitcairn Islands. The Polynesian Culture dates back 2,000 to 3,000 years ago. Major Polynesian cultures include New Zealand Māori, Native Hawaiians, and the indigenous peoples of Easter Island, the Marquesas, Sāmoa, American Samoa, French
Get Access