The Department Of Homeland Security

1602 Words7 Pages
The Department of Homeland Security The Department of Homeland Security is an agency made up of 22 different federal agencies which were combined in an effort to streamline the United States effectiveness in defending our nation. The core mission of the Department of Homeland Security include prevent terrorism and enhancing security, secure and manage our borders, enforce and administer our immigration laws, safeguard and secure cyberspace, ensure resilience to disasters (Department of Homeland Security, 2015). The Department of Homeland Security was created in response to attacks that occurred on the world trade center on September 11 2001. The attacks on the world trade center would change the how the United States viewed terrorism and…show more content…
Tom Ridge would be appointed by President George W. Bush to the position of Director of the Office of Homeland Security. Tom Ridge previously a member of the House of Representatives and Governor of the state of Pennsylvania. Would serve as the Director Homeland Security until 2005. The Department of Homeland Security would begin in after the attacks on the United States. The Office of Homeland Security and the Homeland Security Council would be officially created by President George w. Bush on October 8, 2001 with the issuing of Executive Order 13228 (Federation of american scientists, n.d.). The Department of Homeland security would be made official by the Homeland Security Act of 2002. The bill was passed by congress and signed by President George W. Bush in 2003. AGENCIES There were 22 agencies that made up the Department of Homeland Security, This will give a brief overview of the agencies and what they do. The U.S. Customs Service dating back to the revolutionary war, tasked with collecting tariffs on incoming goods for from foreign countries. The Immigration and Naturalization Service established in 1864 as a federal immigration agency. In 1933 the new Immigration and Naturalization Service was made by Executive Order 6166 signed by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt as member of the department of justice (LERNER, 2004). The Federal Protective Service origins
Get Access