The Development of the Corning Museum of Glass

1276 Words5 Pages
In 1951, the Corning Museum of Glass was built. It was an L-shaped building that composed of the non-for-profit Corning Museum of Glass, the for-profit Corning Glass Center, and the Steuben Glass factory. The Corning Museum of Glass is an institution whose mission is “to tell the world about glass by engaging, educating, and inspiring visitors and the community through the art, history, and science of glass.” Thanks to resources like the Juliette K. and Leonard S. Rakow Research Library, this museum is able to spread knowledge about the art, history, and science of glassmaking. The museum was founded in 1951 by Corning Glass Works as an educational institution. It is a non-profit institution that preserves the world’s glass and teaches about it. The initial building included a Hall of Science that showcased the technology of glass. The Scientific Research Department of the museum was established in order to study glassmaking and its’ history. According to their website, “The findings of this research have been shared in more than 190 publications on archaeology, chemistry, and conservation of glass.” The museum provides a searchable database for the public to use in order to view these publications. In June, 1972, “flood waters caused by Hurricane Agnes caused $750 million in property damage to counties along the Southern Tier of New York State” (NY Times). This resulted in damaged rare glass and working books, works shattered beyond repair, and mud-crusted glass. Much of

More about The Development of the Corning Museum of Glass

Open Document