The Eight Limbs of Yoga

1053 Words4 Pages
The Eight Limbs. (n.d.). Eight Limbs of Yoga. Retrieved May 2, 2014, from Yoga is composed of eight limbs. The first limb is Yama. Yama is focusing on our ethical standards and conducting ourselves in a positive manner. There are five Yama’s, the first is Ahimsa. Ahimsa teaches us to develop the ability to be compassionate to ourselves. The second Yama is Satya. Satya encourages us to accept that we are not responsible for someone else’s emotional reactions. Asteya is the third Yama, which literally means not to steal. Robbing people of opportunities and independence are forms of stealing. The fourth Yama is Brahmacharya. Brahmacharya teaches us not to expend energy on activities that do not contribute to developing our potential or that interfere with good relationships. Aparigraha is the fifth and final Yama. Aparigraha teaches us to benefit our community by sharing our resources and only using what we need at this time. The Eight Limbs of Yoga, A Basic Overview. (n.d.). The Eight Limbs of Yoga, A Basic Overview. Retrieved May 9, 2014, from The second limb of Yoga is Niyama. Niyama deals with self-discipline and spiritual observances. There are five Niyamas. Saucha is the first Niyama. Saucha is the precept of purity in body, mind and environment. Pranayama or breath control can aid in cleaning your lungs, breathing conducts heat which cleanses our organs and muscles. Choosing a
Open Document