The Federal Reserve House The Board Of Governors

Decent Essays
The Federal System The Federal Reserve house the Board of Governors, The Federal Reserve Banks, The Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC), and Advisory Committees. The Federal Reserve Bank is directed by the Board of Governors or Federal Reserve Board, which is located in Washington D.C. The Board of governors is the national aspect of the Federal Reserve System and consists of nine board of directors which are appointed by the President serve a fourteen year term. The Chairman and Vice Chairman are appointed to four year terms which can be renewed (Federal Reserve, 2009). The Federal Reserve Banks are a network of 12 banks with 25 branches. Each banks serves a region of the country and the 12 locations are “Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Richmond, Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Kansas City, Dallas, and San Francisco” (Federal Reserve System, 2001). These Federal Reserve Banks serve other banks, the U.S. Treasury and inadvertently, the public. The FOMC is made up of twelve members, seven from the Board of governors and five Federal Reserve Bank presidents (Federal Reserve System, 2001). The Advisory committee advises on the Federal Reserve System and provides information on the effect of system policies. The advisory committee includes the Federal Advisory Council, the Consumer Advisory Council, and the Thrift Institutions Advisory Council, which work together to advise individual Federal Reserve Banks on these interests (Federal Reserve System,
Get Access