The Four Stage Of The Authentic Leadership Model

955 Words4 Pages
4. Self Mastery
This chapter focuses the third stage in the Authentic Leadership Model, namely self-mastery, see Figure 4.1.

Figure 4.1: Third stage in the Authentic Leadership Model
4.1 Self Mastery
Let us first understand the Four Stages of Learning. Referring the Diagram Three, we need know at which stage we are for our different skills and then consistently and conscientiously improving ourselves. The following scenario will illustrate the four stages:
4.1.1 The Four stages of learning
The four stages of learning are shown in Figure 4.2:
Stage One: Unconsciously Unskilled. This is the discovery stage. At this stage of learning, we are unaware that we not competent to perform a certain skill until we are put to task to
…show more content…
If the weather is good, they feel good. If it isn't, it affects their attitude and their performance. Reactive people are affected by social environment. When people treat them well, they feel well, when people don’t, they become defensive or protective. Reactive people make decision based on their feelings, by conditions, by their environment. Proactive people are still affected by external stimuli, whether physical, social or psychological. But their response whether conscious or unconscious, is valued based choice or response.
Here is an example of how a reactive and proactive people will react: in a meeting for example a colleague of us directly blame us for a project failure. If we are reactive, naturally we become defensive and may use words which are not pleasant to the ears. Once such words are spoken we cannot withdraw them, this will lead to broken relationship which will take time to heal. On the same situation, being proactive we will listen and ask for solutions on how we can do better next time. In the case the meeting becomes more productive and everybody can benefit and learn from the
Get Access