The Four Stages Of The Cell Cycle

Decent Essays
Cell cycle is the order of events that takes place in a cell in groundwork for cell division. The cell cycle is a process of four stages. In each of the stage in which the cell increases in size (G1), copies its DNA(S), prepares to divide (G2), and divides(Mitosis). Mitosis itself have four stages. First is prophase, in which chromosomes are condensed, homologous chromosomes are paired together, and the spindle apparatus made of microtubules forms. Second is metaphase, in which the paired chromosomes are lined up across the center of the cell on the metaphase plate. Third is anaphase, in which the homologous chromosomes are pulled to separate poles in the dividing cell by the attached spindle apparatus. Fourth one is the telophase, in which the daughter cell chromosomes are collected together at the poles. These stages make up interphase, which credits for the distance among cell divisions. In other words, cell cycle is the process in which parent cell divides and produces new cells, called daughter cells. The main concern of cell division is the maintenance of the original cell's Genome (genes).
In animal cells Mitosis is the process of division that takes place in animal cells. In this process, each mother cell divides into 2 daughter cells. “The number of chromosomes in the mother cell is identical to that in each resulting daughter cell. Therefore, sometimes mitosis is called an” Identical Reproduction of Cells”. Prophase is the first stage in animal cycle. In this
Get Access