The Four Texts On Socrates By Plato And Aristophanes Looks At Plato 's Works, Euthyphro, Apology,

1935 Words Sep 29th, 2016 8 Pages
Emily DePasquale
Philosophy 103
Monday,Wednesday,Friday 9A.M.
Professor Nichols
September 30th, 2016
Journal One: Euthyphro, Apology, Crito
1. The Four Texts On Socrates by Plato and Aristophanes looks at Plato’s works, Euthyphro, Apology, and Crito. Plato’s works fall under the genre of philosophical dialogue presented in a context similar to that of dramatic monologues. Although Plato’s works are based in historical context, the works are less historical fiction, and more of a dramatic tragedy or comedy.
2. Plato’s works focuses on Socratic thinking, questioning, irony and cross-examination across all three works. The three Platonic pieces take place over the span of time where Socrates is awaiting entering the courthouse, is being judged for in court for committing crimes against Athens for his philosophical teachings, and when he is in jail waiting to be put to death as punishment for his crimes.
3. In the first text the Euthyphro, Socrates ironically asks Euthyphro what the definition of piety is, in the mist of his awaiting to be put on trial. In the Apology, Socrates goes in front of the court and jury and presents his case of why he shouldn’t be punished for allegedly corrupting the youth with his teachings. In the Crito, Socrates awaits his execution and ponders the system of laws, and whether or not it is unjust to break a law in all cases.
4. Plato focuses on the ideas of piety and holiness, virtue and wisdom, laws and justice. In the Euthphyro he is…
Open Document