The Gospels Are The Start Of The New Testament

1305 WordsMay 6, 20166 Pages
The Gospels are the start of the New Testament that is the story of Jesus Christ and how though him he saved us all by dying on the cross. In the Old Testament were the laws which before Jesus they had to be followed in order to go to heaven. The coming of Jesus resulted in the passing of the time of the Laws. The Gospels are Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Each had a different author in which they each had a different audience placed in different time periods for different reasons. In this case one writer may include certain details that the other writers did not include. The four gospels flow together without any discrepancies but the first three gospels are referred to as the synoptic gospels. This means they look alike. In each book stories and details they contain are the same as the others. John was written, later some gaps needed to be closed in the other three so John were meant to cover the remaining bases. The Law is the first five books of the Old Testament including Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. The first five books of the Bible are sometimes called the Pentateuch which means “five books.” They are also known as the books of the law because in the books the laws and instruction handed down by the lord through Moses to give to the people of Israel. The author of these books was Moses, but with the exception of Deuteronomy because it describes the death of Moses. The Pentateuch lays the foundation to the coming of Christ and in that here
Open Document