The Lunar Phase

Decent Essays
The phases of the moon, relative to the Earth and Sun, are collectively called the Lunar Phase, and are a 29.5 day cycle - there a four main phases; new moon (1st quarter), half moon (2nd quarter), full moon (3rd quarter) and another half moon (4th quarter). The phases of the moon occur because the moon reflects the light of the sun, and we, on Earth, see the reflected light; as the moon orbits the Earth, the amount of Sun that the Moon reflects changes.
Any phase of the moon, from the new moon to the full moon, is described as Waxing, whilst any phase between the full moon to the new moon is called Waning.
Any phase where over half the moon is visible is called Gibbous. Before the moon is half full, it is called a Crescent, and after the
Get Access