The Major Branches Of Government

1258 Words Apr 28th, 2016 6 Pages
The major branches of government consist of three parts, the Legislative Congress, the Executive Branch that being the U.S. presidency, and the judicial branches -Supreme Court and federal courts. There are also other factors of the government such as special procedural rules used in the Senate, interest groups that impact the legislative process and popular opinion and Senators’ votes, which all can limit the president’s law-making power.
The Legislative Congress is the only branch of government that is directly elected by the people, unlike that of the President. The most important responsibility of Congress is that of making the laws. The two houses of Congress prepare and consider legislation, which is done by standing committees, and special committees in each house, as well as joint committees. The two houses have an equal voice in legislation, therefore, when dealing with a Bill a Bill is passed by each house separately and then must be signed by the president within 10 days, or it becomes law automatically. The President can veto a Bill; however, it can still become law in re-passage with a two-thirds majority vote in each house. Therefore, the President is basically answerable in his actions to the Legislative Congress. The Constitution and its 27 amendments indirectly add to the power of Congress. They, however, do not give the President of the United States any additional powers. In fact, Congress permits the President (Executive Officer) to make decisions as…

More about The Major Branches Of Government

Open Document