The Powers And Limitations Of Power For The Three Branches Of Government

938 WordsJan 27, 20164 Pages
Articles 1, 2, and 3 in the constitution discuss the powers and limitations of power for the three branches of government. There are checks and balances to keep one branch dominating the government. These factors work hand in hand to create our government. Article 1 Section 8 of the U.S. Constitution gives Congress its many, but limited, powers enabling it to serve its purpose. Congress’s main powers are: to collect, levy, and raise taxes, to make laws regarding bankruptcy, naturalization of its citizens, and otherwise regulate commerce, to coin money and regulate its value, to create post offices and roads, to protect a person 's intellectual property, and to declare war, this includes raising land and naval forces. Other powers that Congress has is to borrow money on credit of the United States, to regulate commerce with other nations, between states and with Indian tribes. Article I Section 9 of the Constitution states the limitations of Congress. One of the limitations is ruling a case where ex post facto is happening. This means that they are not allowed to charge a person with crimes that were not specified when the crime was committed. This was the argument of Peugh in the Peugh vs. United States case. A second limitation is to prevent Congress from passing bills of attainder, this goes along with the 6th amendment of the Constitution. The last of the main limitations is so that they are not allowed to suspend the writ of habeas corpus. This protects the people

More about The Powers And Limitations Of Power For The Three Branches Of Government

Open Document