The Revolt of 1857

1464 Words May 4th, 2013 6 Pages
The revolt of 1857 is regarded by many as the First War of Indian Independence. It was after this that the Nationalistic Movement in the country gathered momentum. Emergence of press, development of rapid means of transport and communication, and the impact of the contemporary European movement accelerated the growth of this national sentimence. The practice of racial discrimination by the British in all spheres of life also contributed to the unity among different sections of the society to rise against a common enemy.
The Phases of Indian Independence
The Indian Nationalist Movement of Indian Independence can be classified into three phases:
1. The Moderate Phase (1885 – 1905)
2. The Extremist Phase (1905 – 1919)
3. The Gandhian Phase
…show more content…
The Bill tried to remove racial inequality between Indian and European judges in courts. This Bill was opposed by the British residents in India. Ultimately the Bill was modified. Thus various factors contributed to the rise of nationalism and the formation of the Indian National Congress
The Indian National Congress (1885)
Allan Octavian Hume, a retired civil servant in the British Government took the initiative to form an all-India organization. Thus, the Indian National Congress was founded and its first session was held at Bombay in 1885. W.C. Banerjee was its first president. It was attended by 72 delegates from all over India.
Persons attending the session belonged to different religious faiths. They discussed the problems of all the Indians irrespective of their religion, caste, language and regions. Thus Indian National Congress from the start was an all-India secular movement embracing every section of Indian society.
The second session was held in Calcutta in 1886 and the third in Madras in 1887. The history of the Indian National Movement can be studied in three important phases:
(i) The phase of moderate nationalism (1885-1905) when the Congress continued to be loyal to the British crown.
(ii) The years 1906-1916 witnessed- Swadeshi Movement, rise of militant nationalism and the Home Rule Movement.
(iii) The period from 1917 to1947 is known as the Gandhian era.
Moderate Nationalism
The leading figures during the first phase of

More about The Revolt of 1857

Open Document