The Seventh Scene: The Five Senses Of The Sixth Sense

1242 Words5 Pages
Passage 3 The Seventh Scene
From childhood, we are taught that the human body has five senses. I’m sure we can all recite them: sight, hearing, touch, taste and smell. This list has frequent unchanged since the time of Aristotle. To most people, a “sixth sense” refers either to one outside the realm of the scientific, or one that simply does not exist in most humans.
However, ask a neurologist how many senses the human body has, and you might get a surprising answer. Many identify nine or more senses- some listing as many as twenty-one. The first category is made up of the somantic senses, which we usually lump under “touch”- including our perception of pressure, heat, and pain. The third category, however, is not nearly as well-known. These are the interoceptive senses-those that deal with data originating in the body itself.
It is fairly obvious what happens to a person when a sense fails. Many members of society are missing one or more senses. It is common knowledge that blindness is the absence of sight. Deafness is loss of hearing. Everyone
…show more content…
Sometimes the body self-corrects’ but in Christina’s case it never did. Like any other sensory- deprive person, victims of PDD begin to naturally replace the missing sense with those that remain. Christina replaced it with sight. Since she no longer possessed an intuitive knowledge of where her respective body parts were locate, she built up that knowledge herself using her eyes. If she wanted to pick up a cup of coffee, she watched her hand carefully until she had successfully put it down again. If she wanted to walk across the room, she had to supervise her feet until she was safely sitting on the other side. Sitting itself is difficult for a sufferer of PDD; if the hands are not watched carefully they will either grip the chair with white-knuckle intensity or release their hold, allowing the startled individual to slide to the
Open Document