The State Of Georgia's Requirements For Obtaining Licensure
1631 Words7 Pages
In the State of Georgia’s requirements for obtaining licensure include first and foremost, for the person to be a graduate of a Commission of Accreditation in Physical Therapy (CAPTE) accredited school and provide an official transcript including the graduation date from the institute granting the physical therapy degree (Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy, 2015). Additionally, the candidate for licensure must pass with a minimum score of 600 on both the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE) and Georgia Jurisprudence Exam (Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy, 2015). Foreign educated and trained applicants for licensure have extra requirements. After successful completion of the exams, one must satisfactorily complete a three…show more content… Lastly, within the designated two year period, the physical therapist must be able to provide evidence that he or she has practiced as a physical therapist (Chapter 490-4 Renewal: Continuing Competence requirements- disciplinary sanctions, 2015).
Under the old Georgia Physical Therapy Act, a physical therapist was allowed to examine and evaluate of patient or client without a referral source. The only treatment a physical therapist could provide without a referral source was in the area of fitness, wellness, or prevention that was not related to an injury. Effective July 1, 2015, the current Georgia Physical Therapy Act grants physical therapists limited direct access, or the terminology used in the act is self-referral. Under the new practice act a patient who self-refers can be seen by a physical therapist for a maximum of 21 days or eight visits before required to have a referral from the patient’s provider. (Georgia Physical Therapy Act, 2015). A stipulation is that a written disclosure must be provided to the patient that the physical therapy diagnosis is not a medical diagnosis. (Georgia Physical Therapy Act, 2015). Additionally, a provider referral is not required for patients who return for treatment within 90 days that have been previously diagnosed with a chronic musculoskeletal condition (Georgia Physical Therapy