The Three Branches Of American Government

1837 Words Sep 8th, 2015 8 Pages
Cade Braas
Jon Boxleitner
AP Government

The Three Branches of American Government

“It matters enormously to a successful democratic society like ours that we have three branches of government, each with some independence and some control over the other two. That 's set out in the Constitution.”(Sandra Day O’connor). In order for a government that is for the people and by the people to survive the government has to change with its people. This is seen by the United states government. While it still has the three branches originally established, the branches have changed with themselves and with how they interact with each other.

The Legislative branch was formed in 1789 with the 1st congress. The first congress contained 65 representatives, 37 of them were pro-administration and 28 of them were anti-administration.(About the First Federal Congress (1789-1791). Also there were 26 senators.(“About the First Federal Congress (1789-1791”) The role of this congress was to demonstrate the US constitution 's framework. This congress also helped to answer questions and address the concerns that were brought about during ratification. The 1st Congress set up the rules and procedures for the House and the Senate. The Speaker of the House and the President of the Senate were established by the congress. This congress was tasked with taking care of revolutionary war debt and the deciding where the future Capital would be located, however, they never established the location…
Open Document