The Three Branches Of Government

1146 Words Oct 27th, 2016 5 Pages
The Three Branches of Government In 1787 the leaders of the united states gathered to write the constitution which they also divided into three branches to ensure a central government in which no group or individual gains too much control. The three branches consists on the following Legislative, Executive, and Judicial. Legislative branch rejects or confirms presidential appointments, and also has the authority to declare war. The power of the Executive branch is to carry out and enforce laws. It includes the president, the vice president, the cabinet, independent agencies, executive departments, commissions, committees, and other boards. The last branch that is the Judicial branch interprets the meaning of laws, decides if laws violate the constitution, and applies laws to individual cases. Article I of the United States Constitution created and empowered our legislative branch of government. The legislative branch is made up of the two houses of congress the Senate and the House of Representatives. As I mention on the introduction the most important duty of the legislative branch is to make laws. The laws are written, discussed, and voted in the congress.
There are 100 senators in the Senate, two from each state. Senators are elected by their states and serve six-year terms. The Vice President…
Open Document