The Three Pillars Of ASEAN

1368 Words6 Pages
“One Vision, One Identity, One Community” is the motto of ASEAN community. ASEAN stands for “The Association of Southeast Asian Nations” which is one of the most powerful international community in the world. The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967, in Bangkok, Thailand with the signing of Bangkok declaration. The Bangkok declaration or the ASEAN declaration was signed by the five foundation countries, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Today, ASEAN is comprised of the ten Member States which are Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, and Brunei and have citizens more than 600 million people.
The ASEAN consists of three pillars, the Political-Security Community, Economic Community, and Socio-Cultural Community. Each pillar has its own aims which are related to other pillars. These three pillars can be compared as significant to improve ASEAN to be strong and stable as one community. They all aim to develop
…show more content…
Since its foundation in 1967, ASEAN has made extraordinary progress in almost every part. With coordination in political part, economic part, and socio-cultural part of member countries in ASEAN community, it can cause many good effects on ASEAN members, especially Thailand. Successes and advantages of ASEAN through 50 years that has been established this community, ASEAN’s achievements have been acceptable from various countries in every part of this world. Furthermore, every member countries, before, entered into this community, they had to develop their own countries to make their countries ready to cooperate with other members. Therefore, 10 member countries in ASEAN will already prepare themselves to develop The ASEAN community together, and it is easy for ASEAN to grow stably and prosperously among national society. ASEAN's’ successes can, overall, be summarized as these followings
Get Access