The UCL: The Two Bundles

Decent Essays
The UCL is divided into three bundles: the posterior bundle, transverse bundle, and anterior bundle. The posterior bundle has an origin on the medial epicondyle, and insertion on the semilunar notch of the ulna. The posterior bundle is a secondary stabilizer that stabilizes the elbow when it is in flexion beyond 90 degrees, and is about 8 mm long. The second bundle is called the transverse bundle. The origin of the transverse bundle is the medial olecranon, and the insertion is the inferomedial coronoid process. This portion of the UCL does not contribute to the valgus stability. The final bundle is the anterior bundle of the UCL. The anterior bundle has an origin on the anteroinferior aspect of the medial epicondyle, and an insertion on the
Get Access