Theory Of The Four Yugas

1028 Words5 Pages
Kristin Hager
Professor D.T. Reusser
Mythology- HUM 2143
29 April 2017
Theory of the Four Yugas Lasting four million three hundred twenty thousand years, are four ages known as Yugas. The ancients understood time as a circle, not linear. Each age has distinct themes and spiritual lessons. According to the Hinduism scriptures, all mortal beings are destined to pass through four great epochs in every cycle of creation and destruction. The world has already been through the first three and is currently passing through the fourth Yuga. It is believed that the world will end in a great conflagration after the last Yuga. To some, this appears too unrealistic to be true for the rational mind, so many may wonder: What defines each age? When and
…show more content…
The people had all fallen prey to delusion and all pious acts had been swallowed by greed.”

Scientists have predicted that by the end of this Yuga people will hardly be older than twenty years and their only food will be meat. It’s depressing to say that our society’s actions are progressively getting worse as we continue to live during each age. It’s freighting to think of what is going to happen in the future.

According to, one cycle of all four Yugas is called a Maha Yuga, and one thousand Maha Yugas make up one Kalpa. A Kalpa constitutes just one day of Brahma, the creator god. After the day is over, Brahma goes to sleep, and then the night of Brahma commences. This night is the time period when the physical universe, along heavens and hells are destroyed by fire emanating from the mouth of Vishnu 's serpent Adiseshan. Adiseshan is said to hold all the planets of the universe on his hoods and to constantly sing the glories of the God Vishnu from all his mouths. It is believe that after the disaster that Lord Brahma would recreate the universe and mankind will live once again.
Get Access