Three Brain Areas For Consciousness

Satisfactory Essays
Valeria Oceguera Chapter 4 Study questions The three brain areas for consciousness are the cerebral cortex, thalamus and reticular formation. The stages of sleep are onset, stage one, stage two, stage three, stage four and REM. In stage one, the brain wave are the theta waves; in stage two, the brain wave is the theta waves and the sleep spindles; in the third stage the theta and delta waves and in the fourth the delta waves. In onset, the brain wave are the alpha wave and in the REM stage the waves are very calm. Sleep changes depending on age because children and infants sleep more and the older someone is the less sleep they get. Sadadd Restorative theory of sleep is brain restorative and adaptive theory of sleep is body restorative.
Get Access