Unit 502 Task A

Better Essays
This report will analyse some of the theories, principles and models in education and training. I will report on how these can be applied, and how they can enable inclusive learning, through exploring my own research. The report will also show how learners preferences should be taken into account as per of inclusive teaching and learning.

A – Analyse theories, principles and models of learning and models of learning preferences
Wilson, L (2014) has shown that there are three main schools of theory:
The Behaviourist School
The Cognitivist School
The Humanist School
The Table below shows the schools, their theories and key individual theorists
Individuals respond to stimuli, things seen and done around
…show more content…
The learning plans starts with identifying the student’s needs, determining what adjustments need to be made, completing and implementing any changes, and monitoring and evaluating the learning throughout.
C – Explain how identifying and taking account of learner’s individual preferences enables inclusive teaching, learning and assessment
All learners have different learning styles. Using materials at the initial stage of the learning process can highlight preferred styles. Honey and Mumford show four learning styles – activists, theorists, reflectors and pragmatists, while VAK highlights visual, auditory and kinaesthetic preferences.
By identifying these learning styles a tutor can ensure that the lesson plan become holistic by using a range of resources such as flipcharts, presentations, hand-outs, research activities and giving continuous praise and encouragement to all learners.
Wilson, L (2014 Page 80) reports on gardeners multiple intelligence (1983, 1993). This states that understanding intelligence and categorising it will develop learning. The categories are shown in the diagram below:

A more recent learning preference has been introduced by the QCA – (Qualifications and Curriculum Authority) and is used predominantly within the apprenticeship framework. These are known as personal, learning and thinking skills (PLTS) and comprise of six sections, these are:
Get Access