What Are The Barbary Wars

Satisfactory Essays
Barbary Wars

The Barbary States were North African states. Algiers, Tunis, and Tripoli owed a devotion to the Ottoman Empire. Morocco was a kingdom by itself. The United States fought two different wars with Tripoli and Algiers.

Moroccan Sultan, Sidi Muhammad took a U.S. merchant ship in 1784. Muhammad followed a policy of peaceful trade, and the United States made a treaty with Morocco in 1786. Congress still couldn’t raise enough money to make the Dey of Algiers happy.

In 1793, a Portuguese-Algerian truce revealed American merchant ships to capture. In 1795, The U.S. Government stationed Joel Barlow, Joseph Donaldson, and Richard O’Brien to North Africa and concluded treaties with the states of Algiers, Tunis, and Tripoli. Under the
Get Access