What Is Extended Ophthalmoscopy And What Are The Different Types?

970 Words4 Pages
Hyder Almosawy M0300188
Extended Opthalmoscopy
1. What is extended ophthalmoscopy and what are the different types?
a. Extended ophthalmoscopy is basically a detailed drawing/examination of the fundus that is more specific in terms of a general comprehensive eye exam. It is indicated for a wide variety of posterior segment pathology. There are two types of EO which are billed, initial and subsequent extended ophthalmoscopy.
i. Initial: done during the initial evaluation of the disease ii. Subsequent: done during later visits as particular disease has progressed
2. What is the diagram for EO? How big should it be and what elements must it include?
a. The guidelines for the drawing are as follows:
i. Separate sketches for each with with a minimum diameter of 4 in to 6 in, smaller sketches could be subject to being audited ii. Use of between 4-6 colors is preferred, but non-colored drawings are also acceptable iii. Requirement of an extensive scaled drawing must accurately represent normal, abnormal, and common findings iv. CPT has also mandated that the physician should provide a findings and impression report with diagnosis labeled
v. Color Guidelines:
1. Red – retinal arterioles, hemorrhaging, neovascularization, vascular anomalies, vascular tumors, retinal breaks, holes in retinoschisis, cilioretinal artery, and inner portion of thin areas of retina
2. Blue – detached retina, retinal veins, outlines of retinal breaks, outlines of ora serrata, traction, outline of lattice

More about What Is Extended Ophthalmoscopy And What Are The Different Types?

Get Access