preview

cibm

Better Essays
Module Guide 2013-14

Contemporary Issues in Business and Management

6BUS1101

Academic Year – 2013/14

Semester - A

Module Leader – Rachelle Andrews

Contents

Contents:

1a Contact details for the module leaders (and teaching team)

Name
Room
Phone ext
E mail address
Office & Feedback hours
Rachelle Andrews
M221
X5718
r.1.andrews@herts.ac.uk
Wednesday and Friday 12-1pm
Dr Hans Schlappa
M225

h.schlappa@herts.ac.uk

Roma Bhowmick
M323

r.bhowmick@herts.ac.uk

Dr Judy Willetts
M231

j.willetts@herts.ac.uk

Phillip Mason
N/A

p.mason3@herts.ac.uk

Tracy Turner
N/A

t.turner2@herts.ac.uk

Viren Amin
N/A
…show more content…
Maznevski, Steger and Annan (2007) Managing Complexity in Global Organisations http://www.ft.com/cms/d38ba8ea-d933-11db-9b4a-000b5df10621.pdf [Accessed 06/08/2013]

Tutorial

Outline of research techniques for presentation and first assignment
What makes a good presentation? (presentation skills discussion and guidance)
What makes a good assignment? Peer review – practical session on critiquing written work
Action plan to take away

Read – text book chapter and recommended reading for the week

Research – information on using secondary data for research Review – lecture slides
Week Beg
21/10
Lecture 4

Managing in an increasingly global world
RA
Essential Reading:
Core Text: Robbins & Coulter (2014) Management: Global Management

Additional reading:

Hollinshead, G., & Hardy, J. (2010). The offshoring of financial services: a reassessment. International Journal of Management Concepts and Philosophy, 4(1), 87-99.

MARTIN, S. (2009) Networking and Innovation in the Malaysian Palmoil Industry, Oil Palm Industry Economic Journal. 9 (2). pp. 13-22 [Online] Available at: http://palmoilis.mpob.gov.my/publications/OPIEJ/opiejv9n2-susan.pdf [Accessed 06/08/2013]

Tutorial

Student led presentation: External Environment and Internal Culture

Grp1

Read – text book chapter and recommended reading for the week Research – examples and evidence of the opportunities and challenges that come from the
    Get Access